A stylist’s opinion for Eleven.


If you have purchased the January 2011 issue of Vogue (the British one, I buy all of them so I have to be specific), you may have read Emma Elwick-Bates’ “I swear to” article. These are her ultimate fashion must haves/rules for the new season and new year.

Her number seven for eleven, is contraversial in the eyes of this stylist. In her words” Lean, floor-sweeping skirts need little more than a classic white tee – replenish your stocks now”. Ok I’m with her on the basic tee thing. You can never have enough and my favourite are from Selected, which is available in Brown Thomas in Ireland and online. But the whole sweeping skirt thing? Not so sure. This style is Jil Sander’s trademark design for S/S 2011 and was recently seen on the devine Kate Bosworth. Notwithstanding that Kate is a classically beautiful clothes horse, I think this look is just….well…old. I get that vintage versus contemporary is a good thing (I do like the pocket). Maybe it would work in a stronger primary colour to make it more appealing.

In the current form, it looks like a bed sheet.

Leave a Reply

