10 for 2010


Red carpet, awards ceremonies, premieres, X factor… sources of fashion faux pas and in contrast, triumph. Rather than do a top or worst 10, I decided to do 10 of the great fashion moments in 2010.

In no order whatsoever….

Anna Paquin…fashion goddess

In 2010, Anna declared herself, not only in love with Stephen Moyer, but as a fashion force.

The Alexander McQueen number to the left, sealed the deal for me. Elegant but funky, the embellished neckline juxtaposed with the flowing satin of the skirt, make this a classic McQueen but an age appropriate red carpet look.

Oh and I love True Blood. Bring on Season 3.

Lady Gaga…so many it was difficult to narrow it to one

Right. Where do I start with this…..ok..let’s sum it up in ten words.

Weird. Avant garde. Daring. Iconic. Ridiculous. Statement. Movement. Transparent. Facetious. Hmmmm….

Give it up for Gaga. God knows what she’ll do next. And Hmmmm is a word, right?

 

Mark Fast…fringe magnet

At LFW, this was the show I wanted to see but didn’t. Well I technically did but I watched the live stream in the press room at Somerset House. I just wanted to see the fringes! Having maybe spent too much time in upholstery shops, the obsession with fringing was OTT. Dressing up in a dyed spider web, is a bit to naked for me. But, he is praised by his peers, and loved by famous ladies. Mark Fast has graduated from NEWGEN and is now a designer.

I’m a Gleek

Responsible for reintroducing Journey to our lives, Glee is now more of a cultural phenomenon than Robert Pattinson’s hair. Sassy storylines and the odd teenage pregnancy, the Glees have had a little controversy as well as success in the form of a GQ cover. But Lea Michele is the new sweetheart. Rocking the red in Oscar de la Renta at this year’s Emmy’s, she pronounced glamour to the under 25s of Hollywood.

Just lose the necklace and it’s great.

Come on Rude Boy

Whatcha wownt wownt wownt now is for Rihanna to keep up the good work (and maybe collaborate with Topshop?). Red hair does work. Well on her anyway. Not so much on anyone else. She’s fashionably volatile in a good way and brings a whole new meaning to good girl gone bad. And her real name is Robyn. And I don’t care if she was racy on X factor. She was brilliant. Matt Cardle will never recover.

Oh and Rihanna love….Roisin Murphy wants her jumpsuit  back.

It’s not you…it’s me.

Well I bloody well hope so. Carine Roitfeld broke up with Vogue. I mean how could she? They were in love for like 9 years. You don’t just throw that all away. Vogue is so upset that it cannot move on and is still single. It doesn’t know how Carine will ever be replaced.

A single man

Gucci former head honcho, Tom Ford, aka, hottest man on earth, made his debut as a director, of a film that is and not a collection, of the Oscar nominated film, A Single Man.

Words cannot describe the talents this man has, as well as being so delicious to look at. I hope he makes more films and becomes an actor. I would happily pay to see him.

Kate Moss and Topshop

The last collection that dear Kate made for Philip was a compendium of wool, lurex (I love that word) and embellishment with a little jersey thrown in for good measure. As a tribute to my favourite fashionista I bought the over the top wool cardi with a hood. I love it. It’s like Katie foresaw the schnow and decided to make something stylish but functional for the cold spell.

Kate’s cool.

Child of the Blog

Tavi Gevinson got front row seats to Marc Jacobs at NYFW. Not fair. Not fair at all. She hasn’t even finished her high school education. Ok I’m bitter but you know what I mean right? But I will admit that I read her blog and it is quite good. The whole blog thing worked out nicely for Tavi, since now she is a favourite at Vogue and every fashion house known to man.

There’s hope for all of us.

 McQueen of fashion

I wanted to say something profound about Alexander McQueen but found I couldn’t do him justice other than to say that he was great at what he did and could have done much more.

“If you ask any lady they want to be taller, they want to be slimmer, you know, and they want a waist. I’m not here to make people look like a sack of potatoes.”

Alexander McQueen.

Happy New Year to one and all and thanks ever so much for reading my blog in 2010. x

One response to “10 for 2010

  1. Rihanna should do a collab with Topshop, that’d be cool! Sad about Alexander McQueen though…

Leave a Reply

