An affair to remember


I have just completed a mammoth wardrobe clear out and am just about ready to head to Enable Ireland with three sack fulls of clothes which will go on to have another life with someone who needs them.

It’s amazing how emotional a clear out like this can be and I didn’t realise this until it happened to me this afternoon.

I’ll take you back to 2003 when I was in third year in college. This was a pivotal year for me in my personal life. Anyway, to satisfy the desire to dress up, our year pulled together a committee to organise a black tie ball in the Shelbourne. It was aptly named the snow ball, considering it was absolutely bone chillingly cold outside, and it was in the run up to Christmas as well. I had some dresses which would have made do from the previous two Trinity Balls, but I wanted something show stopping.

On a little sojourn from the library (well about a three hour one), I popped by Coast in Brown Thomas. It was about the time when Coast had started to become the primary choice when looking for  cocktail/full length/Christmas party and wedding attire. I spotted this two piece black satin number from the corner of my eye and my a little fashion filled heart just melted.

A heavy black satin corset and figure hugging full length skirt with a fish tail (which went onto to be the style synonomous with the brand) made eyes at me. I tried it on for fun and I asked them to put it on hold while I made the pleading phone call to the parents, desperately explaining how this dress was an essential part of my education at Trinity and if I was going to succeed as a serious entrepreneur of the future, then I had to look the part. Gosh, I should have been an actress. Anyway, my consoling mummy convinced my not-so-consoling daddy to pay for the gown.

I wore it to the snow ball with such pride and to many many more evening events, like my final BESS and Trinity Ball in 2004, and to my first black tie Christmas party with work in the Shelbourne, taking the dress back to the place where I wore it for the first time. Each of those nights was crucial to me for different reasons. One represented the end of my life in education; the other, the start of a new career and the gaining of independence.

If you have any outfits which take you down memory lane, please share them!

2 responses to “An affair to remember

  1. aw noooo, i can’t believe you gave them to enable ireland. i mean it’s great to give to a good cause, but i woulda gladly taken some off your hands! another womans treasure etcetc!
    jen
    wwiwt

  2. I love this post and it’s so true about clothes and times in your life. I always like to do a big clear out coz I feel it’s very cathartic and like you say, someone else can get all of the fun you had in those clothes all over again. I recently gave away a lot of my stuff at a frock exchange in my sister in law’s house and it was lovely to see people lap up the things that I had grown tired of and vice versa. No one took my sparkly Pixie Lott hotpants or my green velvet one shoulder jumpsuit (both of which were the object of much amusement for the night) so I took them back and took it as a sign to give them other go! He he!

Leave a Reply

