Here comes the summer….about time.


I feel a bit like Carrie Bradshaw (without the wardrobe by Halston). Having been out all day, I have returned home and I’m currently sitting down in front of my laptop gazing out into a balmy evening in Dublin.  The garden looks beautiful and tranquil, the sun is setting over the city. I can see it shining down on the roof of the Aviva stadium, smoke is coming out of the chimneys at the docks and the tip of the Spire is alight. I can see all of this from my balcony. This country is a wonderful place to be when summer graces us with its presence. I’m back in my comfies having been dressed to the nines in a cream satin 3/4 length cardi from Charming, skinny jeans from the Gap and mink coloured platform sandals from Buffalo which I picked up in their 2009 summer sale.

Tonight I did two events, and now  I am pretty tired but had a ball. First stop was the launch of TV3’s new programme Celebrity Salon which starts on Monday at 9pm. Staring some of TVs favs, like Brian Dowling, Leigh Arnold and Celia Holman Lee, the event was a star studded bash to welcome the show to the airwaves. Cafe en Seine was transformed into a beauty cave where Peter Mark shared their best hair advice, Rimmel were on hand to give you a touch up and Sally Henson could repair that chipped nail which you broke this morning while trying to get on the DART while on the phone and searching for your ticket (you think I’m talking from personal experience….you got it in one sister). Guests sipped on Summer Fruits cocktails and chatted til a sore throat came on. I did wonder at one point, who was looking after things back at TV3 HQ, as the whole team seemed to be there. My buddy who was my date for the evening made the marvelous suggestion that maybe they through on Lord of the Rings and all headed off. I’m sure that’s not the case 🙂

Having downed my sparkling water, we made our way from the cafe by the Seine to Ely place  for the M&S summer BBQ with a cooking demo from the fabulous Rachel Allen. Burgers, sausages, portobello mushrooms sizzling on the BBQ, prosecco pouring, and the best bit…a chocolate fountain. Gluttony is my middle name right now. Funny thing though, spotted at the M&S event, were TV3’s Alan Hughes and Colette Fitzpatrick with whom I had rubbed shoulders only half an hour previously. M&S do such a great lifestyle range which makes a super receipe for the perfect summer’s eve.

The weekend is a comin’ and I get down to some serious journalism as Tuesday brings with it the latest edition of www.styleisle.ie for June. I have some great fashion trinkets for you this month. I talk to Linda Ennis of the Beauty Academy, the fashion find explores where to get the best playsuit for your summer wardrobe and our styleisle-con is a wonderful and uber stylish new mum. Plus all my latest fashion advice, tips and trends.

styleisle out for now. x

Leave a Reply

